Finally… Heavy Rain!

We really haven’t had much rain lately. Most of this year has been fairly dry. This morning I went out to empty the rain gauge and found it more full than I’ve seen it in a long time!

photo

As is typical with spring and summer rain events the heaviest rain was quite isolated. There was a sharp gradient between a lot of rain and a little rain. Only a few miles east at Brainard Airport in Hartford only 1.07″ has fallen so far. Here at my house in West Hartford we managed 2.71″!

radar

 

One thing I did notice was that my COCORAHS rain gauge picked up about 0.2″ more than my automated Davis gauge. I’ve heard that during very heavy rain (like yesterday’s thunderstorm) the Davis can undercatch and this appears to be one of those cases.

No need to water the lawn or the plants for the next day or two!

Leave a Reply

