Where Were You?

Everyone remembers where they were the morning of 9/11 when they first found out about the tragedy unfolding in lower Manhattan. I was sitting in English class in high school and saw the gaping hole in the first World Trade Center building on TV.

Portions of the rest of that day are seared into my memory. I remember seeing the first pictures from the Pentagon and feeling sick to my stomach. It’s hard to believe it’s been 10 years. The images and memories and feelings were so jarring and raw they barely fade with time.

Where were you when you first heard the news?

2 thoughts on “Where Were You?

  1. In an OSHA 40 hour hazwoper course at Uconn law school in HFD…teacher (BDL emergency responder by day) was actually speaking about the actual causes of 2 different recent air disasters at the same time the towers were being attacked. We weren’t aware until about 9:30AM. Talk about an unlikely coincedence…

  2. I was home trying to wake up and get to work by early afternoon. Later that night I was in the Yale ER with salmonella and e-coli. Apparently a restaurant worker where I had lunch was so freaked out by the day’s happenings they didn’t wash their hands and I thought I was going to die myself. Never been so sick in my life, before, or after, that time. Of course it was nothing compared to the 9/11 events.

Leave a Reply

