Another Overperformer

Another snowstorm and another storm that overperforms. I sound like a broken record. Every winter we get emails from people saying meteorologists hype and exaggerate and don’t know anything. In some cases people in this state get their forecast from someone who doesn’t know much about weather but in general the meteorologists in this state do a good job.

This year is one of those rare winters where nearly every single storm overperforms and delivers more snow than expected. I started this blog to give accurate and hype-free weather information and in general I tend to forecast conservatively. Most winters this works best but this year conservative forecasts have gotten me nowhere.

I’m thinking 4″-8″ of snow now from this storm as virtually every single computer model has nearly doubled their earlier precipitation forecast. It’s possible some towns, particularly in northeast Connecticut, could see 10″ of snow from this.

One thing to note is that this storm is a quick hitter. It arrives by midnight and is out of our hair by 10 in most towns.

3 thoughts on “Another Overperformer

  1. This Winter is kind of fun, I have had 47″ so far in Hamden. And this winter is young yet!! I kind of like it though. I really enjoy this blog!!

  2. ” I started this blog to give accurate and hype-free weather information and in general I tend to forecast conservatively.”

    And that is what makes this weather blog so valuable, and such a pleasure to read. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

