It’s Been 25 Years!

1985… I don’t even remember the storm (sorry to brag!)… but Gloria was the last hurricane to make landfall in Connecticut. It was a weak hurricane with winds of 75 mph (Bridgeport did record sustained hurricane force winds with a gust over 90 mph) but by and large the state dodged a bullet with just strong tropical storm conditions.

Here’s a trip down memory lane for those old enough to remember.

http://www.wtnh.com/video/videoplayer.swf?dppversion=6494

Video courtesy of WTNH. Gotta love the old “Move Closer to Your World” theme music!

Here’s another video clip from WVIT that I dubbed off a couple years ago. The theme music definitely isn’t as dramatic.

http://www.youtube.com/v/tPZf728XmjU&hl=en_US&fs=1&

3 thoughts on “It’s Been 25 Years!

  1. Gloria prompted evacuations of some parts of LI. My parents didn't want to go to the shelter site, I think it was because they had a 1 year old. Interestingly enough…I have a satellite image of Gloria as my desktop BG at the station. I'm hoping it will bring me live shot opportunities.

  2. I found my way here from Geoff Fox's blog, and I wanted to thank you for all of the archival video clips you've posted. It brings back lots of memories from when I lived in southeastern Connecticut. Gloria put a bit of a crimp in my plans that weekend, as it hit on the weekend of my birthday!

Leave a Reply

